National Assembly of the Republic of Bulgaria - Home
National Assembly
of the Republic of Bulgaria
Elections for president and vice president of the Republic of Bulgaria will be held on 6 November 2016
The National Assembly decided the elections for president and vice president of the Republic of Bulgaria to be held on 6 November 2016, Sunday. The Parliament did not accept the proposal of BSP Left Bulgaria the elections to be held on 23 October and the proposal of the Movement for Rights and Freedoms the voting to take place on 30 October 2016.

With 151 “yes” votes and unanimously the National Assembly re-elected the incumbent Governor of the National Social Security Institute (NSSI) Biser Petkov for a new term of office. Vesela Nacheva was elected Deputy Governor of NSSI.

The National Assembly commissioned the National Audit Office to conduct an audit of conformity of the financial management of Sofia Airport EAD for the period 1 January 2013 - 30 June 2016. The National Audit Office should conduct the audit in the period 1 September 2016 - 28 February 2017. The report must be submitted to the National Assembly by 31 March 2017.

The deputies adopted amendments to the E-Governance Act on first and second readings. The voted texts provide that until entry into force of the regulation on the activities, structure and organisation of the E-Management State Agency e-governance functions and activities will be performed by the Minister of Transport, Information Technology and  Communications in accordance with the existing procedure.  

The Parliament rejected the Proposal for conducting a national referendum initiated by  Veselin Mareshki.  An initiative committee wanted a referendum to be held on 5 issues. The report of the Legal Committee states that the number of correct signatures in the petition for the referendum established after the check is 397 356. This does not oblige the Parliament to take a decision for holding the referendum but enables it to decide whether or not to approve the petition.

The next plenary sitting of the National Assembly will be on 31 August, Wednesday, at 9.00 a.m.

Search form
Key word