National Assembly of the Republic of Bulgaria - Home
National Assembly
of the Republic of Bulgaria
First Session of the 40th National Assembly
Today, 11 July 2005, at 10 a.m., the oldest MP, 76-year old Kosta Tsonev /SSNM/, opened the official first session of the 40th National Assembly.

The newly elected representatives of seven parliamentary groups – Coalition for Bulgaria, Simeon II National Movement, Movement for Rights and Freedoms, Ataka Coalition, United Democratic Forces, Democrats for Strong Bulgaria and Bulgarian People’s Union Coalition – took the oath as MPs of the 40th National Assembly.

In his address, the President of the Republic of Bulgaria Georgi Parvanov called on the MPs to adopt all legislation related to Bulgaria’s EU membership as soon as possible.

On behalf of the parliamentary groups, statements were made by Sergey Stanishev /Coalition for Bulgaria/, Anelia Mingova /Simeon II National Movement/, Ahmed Dogan /Movement for Rights and Freedoms/, Volen Siderov /Ataka Coalition/, Nadezhda Mihailova /United Democratic Forces/, Ivan Kostov /Democrats for Strong Bulgaria/ and Krassimir Karakachanov /Bulgarian People’s Union Coalition/.

The solemn session was attended by the Prime Minister of the Republic of Bulgaria Simeon Saxe-Coburg Gotha, members of the Council of Ministers, Patriarch Maxim, judiciary representatives, members of the Central Election Commission, former prime ministers, Bulgarian media directors general and editors-in-chief, and diplomats.
Search form
Key word